Some people think that educational institutions should separate students based on age. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The dilemma of choosing institutions separate students based on age or not on age has been a significant concern for many educational institutions around the world. The simmering conflict between two different groups: one argues that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages, other reckon that the drawbacks of this outweigh advantages, is boiling over. As far as I concerned, I completely agree with the former opinion. The essay will examine both views and provide the rationale behind my own perspective.

Admittedly, institutions should not separate students based on age have some potential benefits. First, older students can help younger students and reduce misunderstandings caused by age differences. This is because older students can teach younger students and consolidate their knowledge at the same time, and younger students can also benefit from this, allowing students to establish a more equal learning environment. In addition, it can allow some students with disabled or talented to find which suits them and avoid being limited by age. For example, students can be freer to choose higher grades or more challenging courses.

However, there are potential and reckless drawbacks that are often neglected. First and foremost, not separate by age will increase the difficulty of teaching for teachers. For example, teachers must take care of the different knowledge levels of students, making teaching more complicated. In addition, when studying with older students, the learning ability of younger students will feel overwhelmed.

Therefore, it is imperative for institutions choose to segregate classes by age due to their significant advantages. Chief among these is the inclusive teaching environment, the content of teachers’ teaching is clearer. Teachers can design courses more specifically, making the content more specific and easier to understand, and improving students’ learning efficiency. Another notable advantage is the students are less stressed by learning. They will not feel inferior because of the knowledge reserves of older students. They will be able to well into the class and enhance their self-confidence, thus promoting their holistic development.

In conclude, while not separate students based on age have some advantages, we should not turn a blind eye to the fact that separate students based on age have more benefits for us.