Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are certain factions of the population that hold the opinion that environmental conservation should be global responsibility, whereas others think that it should be left to individual countries. I believe that national efforts in preserving our environment are pointless because of the inability to mobilize other governments; hence, a global approach is more sensible because it ensures coordination between different jurisdictions towards the greater good.

First and foremost, making these efforts on a global scale is easier because it harmonizes our resources towards reducing emissions and implementing other strategies. Deferring countries can be put in check by international governing bodies empowered by the constituent members. This can be done through sanctions and isolation of the culprit, among other strategies, to set an example for other nations. For example, international efforts have seen automobile manufacturers switch from fuel-based cars to electric and hybrid vehicles, showing that this strategy can work if carried out effectively.

On the other hand, it is an uphill task for individual countries to make any significant dent on the global emissions, even if they decide to only use green energy sources. Despite having the best interests at heart, different countries have varying models of governance, meaning that they will never reach a consensus on crucial topics concerning the impact of destroying the O-zone layer and an ever-increasing plastic waste problem. Additionally, some countries are overly reliant on traditional fuel sources; therefore, they would fill disadvantaged if they are asked to drop its use. The fact that countries cannot agree on the topic of nuclear weapons used in warfare provides a good example as to why isolated national efforts will never work.

In conclusion, while individual efforts among different players are welcome, the inability to mobilize others on the same endeavor means that I stick with the notion that a unified multi-national front is a better approach, due to the cooperation that it encourages among governments.