Some people think that family has the most powerful influence on a child’s development while others believe that other factors (friends, television, music …) have a stronger effect. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that families have the most significant influence on a child’s development. At the same time, many think that other factors, ranging from television, and friends to music, etc., have the biggest effects. I totally agree with the second point of view.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some believe that families have the most powerful impact on a child’s development. The first reason is that parents profoundly affect their offspring’s behavior later in life. With valuable life lessons or how to show respect for the elderly from their parents, these lessons affect the way they behave when they meet adults, as an example. Moreover, parents encounter many challenges during their young life, so they gain many valuable insights into life, and they know how to distinguish right from wrong. Therefore, they might set goals for their children’s development in later life, this is because they don’t want offspring to repeat those mistakes. Additionally, disciplined parents would contribute to self-discipline and self-control when they grow up. This is because they tend to mimic their parents’ behavior from a very young age.

On the other hand, I would argue that other features such as television, peers, music, etc have the biggest effects. Firstly, a child’s personality might be altered by outside influences, this could include teachers, friends, and the media. To illustrate, a child raised by disciplined parents could become undisciplined, they can also form rebellious behaviors if they have to live under strict control. These behaviors become stronger when they play with friends growing up in chaotic families. Furthermore, with overexposure to violent movies or playing with street gangs, children still engage in illegal acts such as drug abuse or sexual assaults even though they are taught the dangers of committing a crime by their parents.

In conclusion, although some people think that families the most major impact on a child’s growth might be from families on account of their valuable life lessons. I personally believe that other elements such as friends, teachers, the media, etc have the most important effects.