Some people think that globalization has positive effects on culture while others think that it has negative effects. Discuss the advantages an disadvantages of globalization on culture.

In today’s rapidly advancing times, the world has become a global village due to rapid globalization. While this trend offers numerous benefits such as enhanced multiculturalism and economic stability, it also has certain downsides that needs to be considered, in particular, diminishing value of local culture and cutthroat competition. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative aspects of this development.

One of the primary advantages of globalization is it’s impact on the cultural perspectives. People have started embracing western culture through their fashion styles, music, artforms, food and so on. They are exploring different languages and cultures through various media platforms; which in turn, makes convenient for a them to thrive at global level more efficiently. For example, international students who are travelling to a new country, might feel empowered if they are enriched with local language and food. Moreover, due to multicultural society, many businesses gets positively affected such as tourism, food industry and branded apparels, which eventually ends up adding to the economic prosperity of the nation. Thus, It is essential why globalization should be used to promote cultural inclusivity.

However, despite these advantages, there are several drawbacks associated with the spread of globalization on culture. Firstly, over influence of international culture is deteriorating local heritage and traditions. People are attracted towards maintaining social status at the costs of local customs being compromised. For instance, with the spread of international brands such as ‘H &M’, people often refrain of buying from the local stores selling traditional outfits. Additionally, they are also facing world-wide competition to keep up at certain level, which often results into demotivation and failure to thrive globally. As a result, many citizens are in opposition to the effects of globalization on cultural aspects.

To recapitulate, while globalization offers numerous advantages, such as comprehensive cultural knowledge and increased trade and commerce, it also posses threat to losing cultural identity and coping up with emotional and mental well-being. Therefore, it is essential to strike a balance between cautiously incorporating the globalization on cultural dimension and amending whenever needed to build up a healthy globalized society.