Some people think that government should subsidize fruits and vegetables to make healthy food more affordable. Others argue that government should tax unhealthy food instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over the last few decades, there have been a significant increase in the number of people suffering from various types of health issues. Some people argue that authority should provide fruits and vegetables at a low price to keep citizens healthy, while some have an opinion that executives should levy higher tax on food items that deteriorate one’s health especially junk foods. In my opinion, a combination of both are crucial to get rid of the emerging health issues.

On the one hand, the policy of imposing higher rate of taxation helps to reduce the consumption of unhealthy food items to a significant extent as when tax rate rises, it results in price hike of that particular product. I vehemently agree with this movement. For instance, In India, most people prefer to eat fast food as it is available to them at a very low price. If their price escalated when higher rates are imposed it considerably results in the reduction of consumption of potentially harmful food.Futhermore,these policy puts a detrimental effect on low-income people.

On the other hand, subsidizing fruits and vegetables also helps the people stay healthy. In most underdeveloped countries, for instance, people are not willing to buy fruits and vegetables even though it is an important content of our meal as they are not affordable to them. If veggies and fruits are provided to them at a low price, they are capable of buying it. In my perception, the executives should impose subsidy to only organic fruits and vegetables otherwise the outcome will be more dangerous, since most of the vegetables and fruits items are grown with the aid of chemical fertilizers and pesticides and it results the people to become more unhealthy.

To recapitulate, I believe both policies have its own pros and cons.Even though it benefited the people in a society than drawback as it enables people to lead a healthy life.