Some people think that government should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier.

There is a widely held view that the authorities should impose higher taxes on unhealthy food, which would encourage individuals to adopt healthier eating habits. I strongly agree with this perspective for two main reasons.

The first advantage is that it raises the level of prosperity and well-being within society. More specifically, a significant increase in charges on unhealthy food leads to a decrease in the consumption of junk food. As a result, the number of healthy people in society will increase, as individuals are more likely to choose healthier options rather than expensive and harmful products. In other words, higher prices discourage people from purchasing unhealthy food. For example, if the price of sodas rises sharply, many people will prefer to buy water or other healthier drinks instead of sugary sodas.

The second side is that it drops the level of several diseases such as diabetes, obesity, and cardiovascular diseases. These days, this sort of illness is rising due to the huge consumption of low-nutrition foods. If this trend is not prevented, it may result in economic problems for the government. In other words, a country focuses on healthcare more than other fields, and it leads to poverty; however, if people adjust to consuming healthy foods, it not only provides benefits for themselves, but it is also productive for society. In addition, healthy eating may play a huge role in aging. For example, it grows the centenarians’ level significantly.

In conclusion, increasing the tax on junk food provides many opportunities for not only people but also the government.