Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centers,while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution Discuss both sides and give your opinion

There is an ongoing debate about whether the usage of personal types of transport should be allowed in urban areas. While some people believe that this restriction will positively impact the overall transport mobility in the cities, others argue that it will be an impractical solution. Although banning all of the privately owned vehicles could eliminate the traffic congestion, I am firmly convinced that it will cause more consequences, being an unrealistic reform.

On the one hand, it is banning the personal vehicles that can significantly resolve the standstills in city roads. Should the number of private transports be totally reduced, the gridlocks will disappear, as only public transit will be on the roads. These public transports can accommodate more people in less space, compared with personal ones, which not only optimize the traffic, but also increase the safety of the passengers. This leads to the second argument that implementing the ban of cars can encourage people to rely on public transportation, which is generally more environmentally friendly. Fewer cars on the roads result in lower air quality deterioration, contributing to cleaner air and a healthier urban environment.

On the other hand, it is autonomy that plays as a major argument in favour of opponents of the restriction. Public transport cannot provide this characteristic, as passengers cannot change the destination or route of the trip. It is especially vital in the countryside, where the transport system is often not constructed or is rare, hindering the daily commute of the people. In addition, this prohibition may not achieve success, as it will significantly damage the economy, since halting the production, sale, and maintenance of private vehicles could lead to widespread job losses and reduced revenue for businesses.

To conclude, although eliminating private cars might alleviate traffic jams and encourage the use of eco-friendly public transportation, the drawbacks, such as reducing individual freedom and harming economy’s, result in an impractical measure. A more effective solution would be to enhance public transit systems and promote sustainable travel options to tackle urban congestion efficiently.