Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centers,while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution Discuss both sides and give your opinion

The traffic jams are becoming a big issue cities are facing daily. While some people support that banning roads for privately owned cars is a good idea, others strongly disagree and think this is an unrealistic way to deal with the problem.

On the one hand, there can be benefits for the environment and people’s health by banning private vehicles. First of all, due to the ban on personal cars, individuals will have to use public transport for commuting which can significantly reduce the level of air pollution. By introducing this method, not only will the roads be less crowded in the rush hour, but the quality of our nature will be much better. Furthermore, clean air can lead to an improvement in health especially owing to its direct connection with air which we are consuming. For instance, in Almaty were introduced “green zones” in the heart of the city, where polluted fuel vehicles cannot enter afterwards residents mentioned decreasing traffic congestion and improvement in air quality.

On the other hand, banning private cars would create lots of difficulties. In many cities, public transport is not as developed as it should be. Most of the time, people face problems such as overcrowding, delays and lack of sitting places. In addition, elderly people, individuals with disabilities and families can rely on private cars because they provide comfort and convenience. To tackle this problem, instead of completely banning personal cars, the government should pay attention to an improvement in public transport, expand the metro and add eco zones to make it more comfortable. These solutions might reduce the heavy traffic without limiting people’s freedom and rights.

To conclude, nowadays cities face an issue of overloaded roads. Banning private cars will help to tackle this problem, reduce the air pollution and improve our health, it is not a realistic solution. Instead, the government should focus on improving public transport to help the city be clean and free.