Some people think that increasing communication usage of computers and mobile phones by young people had a negative effect on their reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that many young individuals use their phones, computers and tablets for communication, but there is a view that this trend is detrimental for them since it impacts their writing and reading skills. Although it appears to be a negative development for the younger generation, I wholly disagree with this statement. In contrast, I believe that the advent of contemporary technology has significantly enhanced literacy.

Indeed, electronic devices have become a major tool of communication among children, and subsequently, many people debate this topic, looking at the potential consequences. They believe that it has an adverse effect on their writing and reading skills, as they stop naturally engaging in writing or reading when they are online. In other words, in the past, individuals had to write on paper and read it without any assistance from technology. However now, for example, there are special features that are designed for convenience, such as voice messages and videos, that may negatively reflect on their writing and reading abilities.

I, on the other hand, consider that there is no threat to youths’ writing and reading skills. To be specific, the fundamental patterns of these skills have not substantially changed compared to past times. Before, children basically wrote on paper, but at present they use mostly keyboards, meaning that they have to use these skills while they are typing. Hence, I believe that contemporary technology does not impair, but the changes in the shift to virtual communication has led to the perception that it detrimentally affects their literacy.

Furthermore, it noticeably reduced the illiteracy rate among adolescents. Since there were massive advances in technology, it not only facilitated the way of communication but also revolutionized the education system. There are so many online libraries and free online courses, where young people are able to read and write, boosting these skills. Acknowledgment of these factors above, makes me lean towards disagreement.

To sum up, while the 21st century brought the advancements of modern technology, which changed communication, many people think that it would be negative for the younger generation’s writing and reading skills. However, I strongly disagree because it helped us to combat the illiteracy problems among them.