Some people think that interview is not a reliable method of choosing who to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Employees play a big role in companies’ success. Recruiting new employees can be a long and painful process. I disagree with the given statement, which says that the interview is not a reliable method, and other methods are better. Although companies need to hire employees. I strongly believe that companies should hire employees by interviewing and their skills, experience, and knowledge.

There are many reasons why the interview is preferred by some employers for hiring new employees. Firstly, by the interview, the recruiters can get an idea about the personality and social skills of the candidate. In an interview, there is a face-to-face interaction and the candidates have to answer impromptu questions. Also by asking some academic questions, employees can judge traits like the ability to handle pressure, confidence, and ability to think outside the box.

However, there are many other selection methods one of them is a written test. This method is preferred when the focus is on judging the theoretical knowledge of the person. Another conventional selection basis is group discussion. This method is good where a major requirement of the company is conversational skills for instance sales jobs. Group discussion can determine the convincing power of an individual. Last but not least, there can be a combination of all three methods like written tests, group discussion, and finally interviews. This method is the most effective thorough of all the methods checking everything from personality to knowledge and also communication ability.

In conclusion, the hiring method depends upon the job and company requirements. In some situations conducting interviews is more effective than other methods. Companies should hire employees through at least a combination of two methods which are written and interview.