Some people think that it is better to stick to one job, while others think when they swap jobs they will have a better chance to gain more knowledge and money. Which do you agree with and why?

Since the beginning of the 21st century, swapping jobs has unexpectedly become a trend among young adults all around the world, sparking a heated debate over whether or not employees should stick to one job throughout their life. Therefore, it is the goal of this essay to examine both sides’ arguments before reaching a conclusion.

On the one hand, sticking to one job does offer various benefits. First and foremost, being a long-serving employee means having a higher chance of promotion, together with better reputation in that field. It is undeniable that all managers and employers have to undergo years of trying and failing before getting to a higher position and gaining everyone’s respect. Secondly, a deep connection with company and colleagues will be established once a person stays long enough. In this day and age, this kind of relationship cannot always be seen and is increasingly being seeked out by employers to create an ideal working environment.

On the other hand, there are plenty of reasons why people favour swapping jobs. The first and most significant one is the novelty and new experiences it offers. People, after having been restricted to one job or being in an environment for too long, tend to search for something new and innovative. Changing jobs, therefore, is a reasonable solution, regarding all the new encounters and opportunities it brings about. It encourages employees’ creativity, boosts their motivation, widens their knowledge and creates unforgettable experiences. Another worth-mentioning aspect is salary. A person with previous working experience can earn way more money when getting a new job, resulting in many employees giving up their present job for a higher-paid job.

In conclusion, regardless of the high chance of promotion and strong relationships with others that a long-term job can offer, many still choose to find another job to get more experience and earn a larger amount of money. To my way of thinking, this is definitely a positive trend and the desire for changes and innovations of employees should always be supported.