Some people think that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals are of the opinion that having both an economically successful and a clean environment in a country is impossible. Personally, I partly agree with this suggestion based on some major reasons that are explained in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some persuasive rationales that support the claim that economically successful cannot be achieved without causing environmental problems. In this day and age, developing countries are concentrating on heavy industry for a prosperous economy, which requires numerous factories reliant on fossil fuels such as oil and coal. The mineral exploitation for industry can lead to the depletion of natural resources. Notably, oil spills in certain countries during mining pose a significant threat to marine ecosystems, leading to habitat loss and endangered species. In addition, factories and industrial zones annually release a significant amount of carbon emissions and waste into the environment. Consequently, this contributes to air and water pollution.

On the other hand, it is possible for the coexistence between economic growth and a clean environment. Nowadays, developing countries have been trying to find renewable energy instead of non-renewable resources, such as solar, wind, and hydropower. This shift minimizes adverse effects on surrounding habitats and promotes environmental friendliness. Moreover, some nations can enhance their economies through tourism development and waste management initiatives. For example, in Singapore or Japan, they prioritize the development of attractive tourist destinations. Therefore, they can attract visitors and promote the economy without significantly impacting their surroundings.

In conclusion, while promoting the economy can have many effects on the environment, there are viable solutions to mitigate these problems.