Some people think that it is waste of money to host big sport event, and the money would be better spending on other things. do you agree or disagree

People often debate about organizing international sporting events, with some individuals thinking that it is a waste of money and mismanagement. I completely disagree with this opinion because governments that execute these events may gain benefits in many ways.

There are numerous examples of how international competitions generated money for state and improved its economy. One of such examples is Germany World Cup in 2006, which did not spend an excessive amount of money because of available infrastructure. Another example of financial success is France which organized Olympics games in 2024 and significantly increased its revenue from visitor influx due to hosting these tournaments. In short, these European countries made billions which may cover all spending from executing international sporting events.

Furthermore, profit is not only priority of host nation. Other elements as worldwide attention are also advantageous for governments. With regard to the global position, a host of a major sport tournament, greatly boosts its reputation and global recognition. For instance, Qatar was not as well-known as after being a host of the World Cup competition in 2022. In other words, international sport competitions can help for unpopular countries international visibility.

I think that executing major sports events is perfect decision for states which want to be attractive for tourists and rise their income. These funds may be useful for developing government’s facilities such as education, healthcare, hospitality and public transportation. To clarify, state may improve quality of live by being a host for such events.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that organizing events of such calibre is beneficial, and not only from a financial perspective, but in terms of country’s image.