Some people think that it’s a good idea to socialise with work colleagues during evenings and weekends. Other people think it’s important to keep working life completely separate from social life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that to socialize with coworkers outside of working hours is beneficial. However, there is an opposite opinion that people’s private lives should be separated from the working environment. This essay will address both positions and express my view that a balanced approach based on personal relationship, attitude and workplace culture should be implemented.

Company operation is an everyday struggle, where decisions are made by the team. If colleagues become friends, the team becomes united and helps each member to struggle with everyday challenges. Supportive colleagues help each other and everyday routine becomes less rough going. Many things go without saying in a team which shares equal values. Common interests among colleagues not only create a common spirit but also develop their personal skills. For example, If somebody accidentally forgets his usb-stick for a conference, a helpful colleague who stayed at the office can bring it to his friend and he is sure that he will be treated the same way.But some factors still support the opinion of keeping colleagues out of your personal life. The main reason for keeping contact with colleagues professional and does not involve personal attitude is that it lowers the risk of making incompetent decisions or supporting such decisions made by your teammates just because they are your friends. It is believed that keeping your co-workers out of personal life brings better work-life balance. For example a person can avoid being constantly late with his own tasks just because of helping everybody around him, if the rest of the crew are friendly but much less experienced.

My personal opinion is that it is better to keep a balanced approach. So not to get too close with your colleagues in order to stay professional and not to be disturbed from personal or company goals, but also be helpful and positive to people you work with and try to keep at least some interests in common.

In conclusion I would like to say that socializing with coworkers outside of working hours is definitely beneficial for a worker, however, private lives should be fairly separated from the working environment in order to keep personal work-life balance. My personal experience completely supports this idea.