"Some people think that learning a second language should be mandatory in schools. Do you agree or disagree?"

Language is the best medium of communication. However, difficulties arise when it comes to exchanging ideas with people of different countries. There is controversy about adding a foreign language to the school curriculum. In my opinion, students should begin learning at least one foreign language.

Schools play a vital role in every student’s life. They provide an overview of the world and ventures into unknown subjects. Moreover, learning a foreign language would give them access to the culture and practices of another country. For example, a student with knowledge of Mandarin as a supplementary language should have more global recognition than a monolingual student. However, if a foreign language is included in the school curriculum and made compulsory for students, they will be required to learn it, which will benefit them eventually.

On the other hand, modern technology has provided us with various kinds of language interpretation. Now, anyone can understand any language using different software and applications. Furthermore, students can learn any language at their leisure using mobile phones. For that reason, they, spending extra time on mobile phones, might miss a lesson that is more important than learning another language. For example, many studies show that students who missed their math lectures also had more screen time. Even though, most schools now make English a mandatory language in addition to local ones.

In conclusion, although technology has made language learning simpler, it would be unwise to expose students to mobile phones or computers at a very early age. Therefore, schools should make learning a foreign language mandatory.