Some people think that modern communication technology is having a negative effect on social relationships

It is believed by some people that advancements in communication technologies are harming the quality of human relationships. While some believe that communication technology weakens human connections, others argue that it helps people to stay better connected. In my point of view, although it has some drawbacks, its benefits clearly outweigh the negatives.

Some individuals claim that communication technology negatively affects real-life relationships because it reduces face-to-face interaction. Moreover, it is possible that social media might replace meaningful conversations, such as in-person meetings, which may weaken emotional bonds and even affect job-related communication, like interviews. For instance, nowadays, families often spend more time on their phones instead of interacting with each other during meals. In addition, due to excessive use of social networks and platforms like TikTok or Instagram, some young and middle-aged people are becoming addicted and avoiding real-life communication altogether.

On the other hand, social media was initially created to help people with a wide range of communication opportunities. For example, video calls, instant messages, and social apps help maintain long-distance relationships globally. My mom, for instance, communicates with my brother, who studies in another city, through video calls, and WhatsApp helps us to stay connected with him regularly. Furthermore, modern online apps are helping introverted individuals feel more comfortable by expressing themselves online and discovering new interests, hobbies, or even making new friends.

In conclusion, although communication technology may reduce in-person interaction, it significantly enhances global connectivity. Therefore, I believe it has more positive effects than negative ones on relationships.