Some people think that movies should only be for entertainment. Others think that they should also have educational values. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the number of people who are watching films has increased drastically. Cinemas come with many subjects varying from horror to comedy. It is believed by some individuals that movies should only be meant for entertainment, while others hold the view that entertainment should further have elements which can contribute to education. In this essay I intend to discuss both view points I believe that films can do both entertaining and educational.

On the one hand, there are certain reasons why some opine that movies should only be meant for entertainment. Firstly, in this fast paced contemporary world, everyone is so much occupied with work and have little time in life to seek fun. They also look at it as a means to refresh their minds. Furthermore, films and television programs are part of the entertainment industry. The purpose of this industry is for entertainment, and it is a multi billion – dollar industry that creates jobs and generates a lot of money in many countries.

On the other hand, films and TV programs can have very strong effects on the minds of audiences, and therefore, people should be careful about how the content of the films they watch affects them and their families. For example, many peoples moral values are shaped by what they watch on TV and in films. In addition, children can learn about right and wrong through watching films. For instance, watching a film about war may cause people to have a strong sense of patriotism for their country, which could be seen as a positive educational effect.

In conclusion, it is generally seen that some view movies solely to amuse themselves; however, there are others who wish to see them only if they think these have some educational value. I strongly opine that we should keep our thinking very flexible while watching any movie, as they are not always directed with an objective, to cater to education.