Some people think that old buildings should be protected, while others believe that they should be replaced by newer buildings. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Thinking about replacing older buildings by newones it may be a common sense matter to some people if they prioritized money over everything else, but I couldn’t agree with that opinion because I truly believe in their protection. We just need that people learn the reasons of why we need to protect them to make them understand their value.

As I mentioned before, it is certainly true that maintenanment could be expensive, because to restore this kind of construction you need not only specific materials, but also specialized hanworkers. Furthermore, modern constructions could be building with the requirements needed today, like accessibility, but it also seem we are more oriented to built the same tipe of international architecture what made them pretty similar not matter the country where they are located.

On the other hand, we have to bear in mind the value of historic buildings have to. They contain stories and customs of our society in different moments of their live. In addition, they take part of our culture, our identity, and show us through details and techniques that we can’t find anywhere, what made them special and authentical.

To conclude, my opinion as an architect who is studying about this kind of topic is that maybe new buildings could be cheaper than restore an oldone, but modern constructions actually are quite similar around the world, their lost what made them unique and particular for each country. If we still replace our historic buildings, the price will be huge for our culture because we will lost our particular architecture.