Some people think that old buildings should be protected, while others believe that they should be replaced by newer buildings. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The question of whether old buildings should be protected or replaced by newer ones has long been a subject of intense debate in many parts of the world, especially in modern societies. In this essay, I am going to discuss both perspectives and express my own opinion on this important issue.

On the one hand, those who support protecting old buildings argue that its primary advantage is that it leads to keeping cultural heritage and a nation’s history. This is because old buildings hold a number of stories, and people can imagine or travel through time, as a result, people can easily understand their history and cultures. For example, historic buildings, such as mosques, castles, or old homes, attract tourists from all over the world. Consequently, this approach results in significant positive outcomes for society as a whole.

On the other hand, proponents of replacing old buildings argue that it is crucial to address the need for modern housing and facilities. Moreover, focusing on this aspect is essential for long-term stability and progress. Evidence from the real world shows that focusing on this idea can bring great benefits, such as better quality of life, facilities and safer buildings. Ignoring these factors could lead to serious and irreversible problems, such as safety issues and a shortage of affordable homes, which might affect people’s lives negatively in the long term.

In conclusion, I believe that while protecting old buildings is undeniably important, replacing old ones must also be given serious consideration. A balanced approach which integrates both perspectives is pivotal for sustainable development and future success.