Some people think that people commit crime because of poverty and social problems, while others think it is because of their bad nature. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some individuals think that people commit crimes due to poverty and social issues such as unemployment and drug addiction. However others emphasize that this is an effect of their bad behaviour. In my opinion, the former notion is rational. This essay will discuss both sides in the upcoming paragraphs.

To commence with, there are number of points in the favour of individual commit crimes because of poverty and social problems. The most prominent one is the need to survive. To justify it properly, poverty-stricken people do not get meals to satisfy their hunger, therefore, they stole money or snatch chains from people get food for their families. Poor people do not have money to fulfill basic necessities, this is why they commit crimes such as burglary, robbery and pocket- picking and sometimes they steal food from supermarkets. It cannot only contribute to increase crime rates, but also leads to numerous other bad effects on society. Needless to say, all these demerits have a far reaching impact on society and individuals.

Furthermore, another pivotal aspect of aforementioned proposition is unemployment and drug addiction. To be more precise, when people have higher educational degrees to get a job but they do not get placements due to less job opportunities and cut-throat competition in any workplace. Consequently, they become frustrated from constant rejections and start to use their mind in unscrupulous ways to enjoy life, such as unemployed engineer students begin to hack computer systems and sell confidential information of big firms. In this manner, they earn big chunk of money and live peacefully. In addition, since drug addicted individuals face scarcity of their dose, they choose any option to fulfill their desires and get drugs. As a result, people commit crimes and drink alcohol & consume other drugs they are addicted to. For instance, study results published by the Delhi police in March 2020 in a newspaper indicated that crime rates has increased in slums and it mainly consists unemployed adults and drug addicted who face difficulty to fulfill their expectations and satisfy their desires.

However, a section of society contradicts the above-said views by providing reliable justification. They claim that people commit crimes because of their bad nature. This is because some individuals are aggressive and they easily get triggered by their surroundings and sometimes they cannot control their behaviour and murder someone or domestically abuse their partner and children. Some teenagers have seen their parents in such nature so they imitate them and commit crime such as blackmailing their classmates. To illustrate this, one article has been published by the Home affairs of Australian government that reflects domestic violence cases has increased drastically from last decade owing to bad behaviour and it has severely effected the upcoming generation This is why, few people believe this is the main reason of increased crime rates.

To conclude, it is crystal clear that crime stems from poverty and social issues, the effects of bad nature are indeed too dire to ignore.