Some people think that people commit crime because of poverty and social problems, while others think it is because of their bad nature. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is an argument on why criminals are prominent in contemporary society. One school of thought holds that the main reason leading to this is the lack of property and social issues, whereas others have the opposite belief that improper character is the motivation for people to engage in criminal activities strongly. Although both sides present compelling discussion, I tend to side with the former perspective for several reasons.

Admittedly, it is plausible to support the idea that facing financial hardship

and collective challenges is one of the factors driving people to commit crimes. To begin with, people who have difficult life circumstances have a tendency to blame society which causes social inequality for them. As a result, they often feel disappointed and despair, in a worse case, they can feel unfairly treated and upset. This ultimately might push them onto an illegal road in order to survive. And there is the fact that most of those people commit white-collar crimes frequently. For example, long-term unemployed individuals turn to illegal acts such as selling substandard goods to generate incomes that afford their basic requirements.

Nevertheless, I strongly believe that people’s defective instinct is the motive more noticeable and impactful. Criminals who have harmful sides such as jealousy, envy, or unlimited desire, tend to have violent behavior toward other people or animals. Because in their nature, there is a motivation to encourage them to do bad things and give them extreme satisfaction. It is hard for them to have self-perception about what they do, as a result, they keep re-offending despite facing criminal charges many times. Evidence can be seen as a psychotic individual exhibiting personality and behavioral signs negatively such as harming themself or random people they can see.

In summary, although both poverty and imperfect traits are reasonable causes behind the prevalence of crime, I am convinced that the latter point is more striking. It is recommended that the government implement a policy to support these cases as a means of significantly decreasing criminal activities.