Some people think that people commit crime because of poverty and social problems, while others think it is because of their bad nature. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Human critical thinking is always changing over time and gaining many assumptions affecting today’s mindset. One of these is deciding the reasons several people commit crimes. On the one hand, welfare and social issues are the cause; on the other hand, the poor environment is. This essay will represent the neutral position between these causes.

Crime occurs due to a multitude of causes, and one of them is welfare and social issues. For instance, the incident of 1998, which was a turbulent year for Indonesia, especially in relation to the economic and political crises that hit the country. In July 1997, Indonesia was caught in a monetary crisis that began to spread to other sectors. The rupiah exchange rate fell drastically, inflation was high, and many companies went bankrupt. This condition worsened in 1998, causing widespread economic hardship among the people. The crisis peaked in May 1998, when major riots broke out in Jakarta and several other cities.

The impact of community can also be a high stake in becoming a criminal. Through a documentary film aired by Vice, Haiti, one of the most dangerous countries in the world, is a place where more than a thousand people commit a bunch of crimes, starting from having a gun, blackmailing, kidnapping, and others. What is ironic is that not only adults have guns but also children under age. Adults teach children so that they can defend themselves during the civil war, since war can happen anytime. The documentary is brave enough to capture the activities of Haitians and upload them to SNS.

To sum up, this essay states that becoming a criminal can happen not only because of welfare and social issues but also because of a poor surrounding.