Some people think that people who commit serious crimes should be given the death penalty. Others believe that it is not a good solution. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Most people think that criminals who commit harsh crimes deserve death sentence, while some suggests that other solution like rehabilitation is better. Even though putting wrong-doers to death may sound rightful, this essay agrees with the latter viewpoint and will illustrate how rehabilitation plays more important role when it comes to crime reduction.

Supporters of ending criminals’ lives are confident that implementation of death penalty brings peace to society. This is due to the fact that it creates a fearful environment which prevents individuals who are thinking about doing wrong things from doing so. However, in reality death penalty leads to tension among criminals. To clarify, it stimulates their actions to be more extreme because they believe if they get caught they will end up dead anyway. For example, recent study from Amnesty International shows 90% of rapists are likely to kill the victims after sexually abusing them whereas they don’t want those women to escape and call the police. This fortifies how ending criminals’ live can lead to more serious crime in the future.

On the other hand, those who advocate for improving criminals’ behavior believe it can reduce crimes in the long run. The logic behind this is that if government or policy makers focus more on rehabilitation, it will contribute to less negative thoughts among criminals and bring more of the good citizens back to society. If society gives them a chance to be a better person and not discriminate them, they will feel encouraged and not go back to the wrong things. A case in this point is Thai GrabBike’s employees, who were formal criminals, said after completed rehabilitation program and getting released, they want to restart their lives as they stop going back to illegal jobs and become delivery man instead. I firmly believe that giving people chance is more effective solution as they will appreciate it.

In conclusion, Even if death penalty can stop from doing crimes, it can also lead to more serious crime and I strongly believe that rehabilitation will bring more sustainable way to prevent future crimes.