Some people think that public libraries are no longer necessary because of the availability of digital resources on the internet. Others argue that libraries still play an important role in society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The statements above discuss on the necessary of public libraries due to the availability of digital resources on the internet, meanwhile some others believe that public libraries play an important role in society.

To begin with, some people are no longer see the urgency of public libraries for multiple reasons. First, because they barely read a book at all from the beginning and only read a book when needed. For instance; educational purposes. Secondly, the accessibility to digital resources now are very easy and practical. This leads to time saving for people with tight agendas to still get the information they needed from the books.

On the other hand, some other peoples believe that libraries still play an important role in society. First of all, not everyone prefers to read a book digitally. Some of them read physical book for hobbies and preferences. In addition, some people also go to the library for the quiet and calming ambience. Secondly, due to the digitalization era, libraries are still important to let the younger generation aware with the concept of physical books. Lastly, an aesthetically decorated and designed library could become a tourist destination.

As far as I am concerned, I must disagree with the first view. Even though digital resources are very accessible nowadays, I believe that public libraries are not only function to store and archive books, but also as a hub for people to focus and study in a quiet and calm ambience. Furthermore, public libraries should be built in academic cities and towns to build a supportive environment.