Some people think that public libraries are no longer necessary in the digital age because information can be easily accessed online. Others believe that libraries still play an important role in society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Public Libraries, often known as temples of knowledge, offer a great way for the public to access and read books and magazines. In recent times, there has been a debate on whether these libraries are really needed anymore due to the rise of digital and online information. This essay will discuss both perspectives and argue that, while the digital information can be easily accessed, the feeling of reading an actual book cannot be bested.

On the one hand, in areas where space is premium and libraries are rarely visited, public libraries can be considered a ‘waste of space’. Additionally, the orthodox subscription model of libraries and the exorbitant fees that they charge may discourage the average consumer. Furthermore, it is frequently observed that public libraries fail to cater to the basic maintenance and care of books. These books are often vandalised and misplaced or even stolen by people. On top of that, digital information is far easier to access at the comfort of your home, and eliminates the issue of books taking up physical space.

On the other hand, public libraries are a great place for social and cultural interaction. Individuals can interact with other like-minded people and share intellectual knowledge with each other. Also, public libraries often boast a well-built architecture and some libraries also provide shelter to homeless people. These people can sit there and spend their time in a place with a roof. In addition to this, the serene environment of a public library establishes it as a great place to calm down and unwind. The best libraries in world also contain a huge collection of books, especially older copies. This is something that is hard to find online. And finally, any and every book enthusiast knows how special it is to read a physical book compared to its digital copy. Holding the book, the smell of new paper, and the words printed on the page altogether brings a refreshing and exhilarating feeling in the mind of the reader.

In conclusion, though the technological advancement has made it easy to access resources online, the public libraries are a great place for people and should remain so indefinitely.