Some people think that remote working trends likely continue post-pandemic, and it would benefit our society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Remote working paradigm, which has been widely adopted by many countries all around the world due to the consequence of COVID-19, is believed to have its prevalence continued after the pandemic for the societal advantages it might proliferate. From my standpoint, I completely agree with this point, and this essay will give an explanation for my statement.

It is apparent that the tendency for online working will continue in the years to come because of the advantages it brings about. In the past, the concept of a brick-and-mortar company cost employers a significant rent for real estate, which exponentially increased the overhead cost, making companies struggle from retaining its viability and profitability. Additionally, commuting back and forth on a daily basis also prevented employees from spending their full time and energy for work, which led to the plunge in productivity. By transforming into telecommuting, operational costs can be lessened to increase the profitability, and productivity is also optimized due to the flexibility of time, eventually benefiting both parties in the long run.

Furthermore, I am a staunch believer that this paradigm shift can positively influence society to some extent. On the employees’ aspect, elimination of commute time allows for a work-life balance and autonomy, which offer them a flexible schedule to increase job satisfaction. On the social aspect, should teleworking be applied, the burden on road infrastructure, as well as the emissions from vehicles, especially during rush hours, can be abruptly decreased, which brings significant benefits to the environment.

In conclusion, I agree that telecommuting will maintain its continuation in the post-pandemic period due to the merits in boosting both the organizations’ profit and workers’ productivity. Whereas challenges remain, the positive impacts that this initiative has on individuals and the environment are still dominant.