Some people think that school assignments are not so crucial for educational outcomes while other people argue that homework is an influential factor for children's growth. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument before giving my own opinion about it.

Opponents of homework claim that it increases stress. Although children spend all day in academic places, if they do extra tasks at home, students might have health problems. For instance, doing after-school assignments can overburden students and create academic pressure. Besides, when they don’t afford to do tasks at their own pace, in the classroom they face negative emotions like shame and less self-confidence. In addition, having more homework leads children to be unable to spend their leisure time with family members or friends such as eating out for special dinners or going to recreational places for relaxing out of academic stress.

There are many reasons why people in favor of giving children homework can help them achieve their educational goals. Firstly, if children are provided with assignments to do at home, children might develop their independent learning skills. For example, doing tasks on their own creates self-discipline, as a result, they will be able to control time management for all extracurricular tasks even when they are at home. Another main benefit of homework is that it reinforces classroom learning by revising knowledge one more time. Propenents argue that it encourages students

to boost their critical thinking over time. In my view, homework plays an important role in building self-control habits that contribute to achieving more academic success.

To sum up, even though there are a lot of advantages of homework for achieving more academic goals, it has visible drawbacks for children’s health too.