Some people think that schools should focus more on teaching students how to be good citizens and less on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People often claim that it is more crucial for schools to teach students to be ethical and active people in their community than to solely teach them for excellent grades. I strongly agree with this idea because learning to be a responsible citizen helps students more in their adult life. As a result, it leads to learning important life skills and creating a better society for everyone.

One advantage of focusing on being a great citizen is that it teaches learners practical life skills and experience that cannot be learned in other subjects. For instance, when students work together on a group project, as cleaning a local area, where they live or study, they learn how to manage their time with advantages, solve problems and they learn a beneficial communication. They also learn to be responsible for their tasks and to works as a team. These skills are very useful for their future career and personal lives.

Another benefit of creation responsible inhabitants is that it is beneficial for whole society. If young people learn about the importance of helping others, following rules and participating in community life, they will continue these habits in their adult span. This leads to a stronger and safer community where people trust each other and work together. For example, these citizens are more likely to help their neighbors and volunteer. A society full of people with high marks but no sense of community will not be happy or cooperative place.

To summarise, while getting good grades can be helpful for student’s future career, the main goal of school should be to raise ethic people. In the long run, the abilities gained from good citizenship and the benefits they bring to whole society are more important. For this reason, educational places must prioritize teaching these principles.