Some people think that schools should focus more on teaching students how to be good citizens and less on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning how to be a good citizen is an essential part of modern life. While many individuals believe that schools should teach students how to be good citizens, others argue that students should only focus on their academic subjects. I personally support the letter viewpoint for many reasons.

On the one hand, many people believe that students should be educated how to be a good personality for several reasons. First of all, they believe that if this subject will be taught at schools, the personality of a student is going to change positively. For example, nowadays personality of people is becoming worse, as people do not how to get on with their neighbours or relatives, which can result in conflicts between community and might have increased crime accidents. Secondly, supporters of former view argue that only learning academic subjects is quite boring, resulting in less attention span between students and lower test results.

On the other hand, other individuals including me strongly believe that students should focus on their academic subjects. Firstly, I believe that learning academic subjects improves students’ career chances. For example, if a student has been accepted to top universities taking MIT, Harvard and Stanford as an example, that student might work in well-paid jobs. Secondly, I believe that academic subjects can help students to be a leader, manager, etc. in the future, as academic subjects taught students how to be professional leaders. Moreover, I believe that good leaders are good citizens to, as to be a good leader, that leader should have easy-going personalities, which is important to be a good citizen.

In conclusion, although learning how to be a good citizen is important for person’s life, learning academic subjects is more essential for students as it improves their career chances and they may work in well-paid jobs in the future.