Some people think that schools should focus on teaching students practical skills, such as financial management and cooking, rather than traditional academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Finding appropriate subjects for schools to teach their students is a frequent topic of discussion. Some highlight that vocational skills such as cooking, and managing money should be prioritized compared to traditional academic subjects. I agree with his viewpoint and this essay will elaborate on my stance.

With the steady development of society, the traditional way of teaching might not seem to be suitable for the developing pace of the world. So, equipping them with skills that can be useful in their everyday lives early at school will help them gradually adapt and get used to them. In addition, traditional subjects with few applications can cause students boredom, for instance, mathematics can be considered as one of the most difficult subjects when it requires too much effort for its formularities and complex problems. Not all students want to attain that much knowledge of a subject, as a result, they will lack the motivation, which leads to ineffective teaching.

Moreover, learning practical skills will offer students more job opportunities. When students learn different skills that are applicable, they will be able to find their strength or a skill that they are passionate about. As a result, they will invest more time and effort for that skill which leads to high productivity. Being specialized in certain skills also boosts a person’s confidence and satisfaction in his or her life. This explains why realistic skills should be concentrated on more, instead of ordinary academic ones.

In light of what has been discussed, although classical subjects have their features in education, they seem to be less longer relevant in modern society. Investing money and resources in hands-on skills will bring more opportunities for a person and foster social development.