Some people think that schools should teach students to be good members of society, while others believe that schools should focus on academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no denying the fact that the education plays significant role in shaping students’ mindset. Some people opine that humanitarian values should be part of a school’s curriculm while others consider that educational institutes should only cover an academic stuff. In my opinion, ethics and values should be part of school’s syllabus. The ensuing paragraphs will articulate certain facts and examples to discuss both perspectives and my opinion before coming to a conclusion.

This paragraph will discuss why a student should learn about being a good member of a society in the school. The most important point is, school will teach subjects such as ethics, morales and values through trained professional as part of their syllabus. These trained professional will make sure that students are understanding the imporatance of being a good person. Therefore, it would be better for the community and the environment will be more harmonious. To illustrate this, ABC school in Ontario already covers practical projects related to helping and community help. Because of that, their students got the higest grade in a human values survey in the province.

On the other hand, according to some people, school is already burdened with the responsibility of teaching academic subjects such as science, mathematics, and languages. Putting a responsibility of teaching about being a good member will increase a load on authorities. Additionally, teaching these topics alongside academic subjects might put a load on students as well. Consequently, this might affect their mental health.

Taking everything into consideration, I conclude by saying that a properly planned academic curriculum can make a space for human values subject. Hence, students should learn it from young age from trained professionals for the betterment of the society.