Some people think that should be taught to be competive in school. Others, however, say that cooperatin and team working skills are more important. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

People have different perspectives on whether school should focus on teaching children how to compete or to work together as a team. While many people believe that competition is vital, I consider that it is more beneficial for children to learn how to cooperate with one another.

On the one hand, I think that competing at school can often assist students in doing better in school. In other words, the competition among students can motivate them to excel in their studies and tasks; therefore, they would be able to produce better academic performance and results. For instance, schoolchildren frequently put in more effort when they are in direct competition with their peers. Thus, this will not only help them achieve better grades, but also would be an indispensable method for thriving later in their careers.

On the other hand, it is commonly argued that the main emphasis at school should be on cooperation between students and their classmates. As people do not live alone, they should acquire interpersonal skills to effectively communicate and efficiently complete projects. For example, schoolboys and schoolgirls who lack communication skills are more likely to struggle when dealing with confrontations and conflicts in a constructive way. As a result, if school did not provide them with these social skills, it would negatively impact their personalities in their daily lives, including their work environments.

In conclusion, although a large number of people support the idea that it is best for a child to gain teamwork skills, I wholeheartedly think children should be more competitive as it can help them strive for excellence in their studies and assignments.