Some people think that should be taught to be competive in school. Others, however, say that cooperatin and team working skills are more important. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that schools ought to teach children to compete, other people believe that the focus should be on cooperation. In my opinion, I consider that competition helps children learn the most important skills for their future life and should be encouraged alongside cooperative skills.

On the one hand, some people think that children who learn to compete against each other often do better in school, and I agree. In other words, the competition between students motivates them to excel in their studies or tasks, which consequently produces better academic performance and results. For example, students generally apply themselves and work harder when they are in direct competition with their classmates. Furthermore, being driven to achieve the best is vital in order to succeed later in life when, as adults, they must compete against others in the job market. Therefore, competition in schools can cultivate determination and a strong work ethic that benefits students throughout their lives.

On the other hand, it is often believed that it is better if the emphasis at school is on cooperating with others. As people, we do not live, work, or socialize apart from others, so learning how to work alongside other people ought to be taught from childhood. Without these skills, children would lack the ability to communicate with each other or know how to deal with confrontations and conflicts in a constructive way. Another reason why team skills are useful for children is that they learn how to negotiate with others to complete a task. This is an essential skill to learn for their future life. Thus, fostering cooperation in school helps develop important social skills that are necessary for personal and professional success.

In conclusion, while opinions may vary, I believe that children stand a better chance to succeed both in school and later in life if they are encouraged to compete against each other. At the same time, balancing competition with cooperative activities ensures they develop both ambition and essential interpersonal skills.