Some people think that the best way to be successful in life is to get a university education. Others disagree and say this is no longer true. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the past, parents used all means possible to ensure their children continued their education to higher education to be successful in life. Nowadays, some people still believe that higher education means successful life, while others argue that they could be successful even though they do not have a higher formal education. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and share my own opinion regarding the matter.

Having a university education is a must for some work fields such as law, finance, medicine, and education. The reason for this is that to be a lawyer, a banker, a doctor, or a teacher, one has to learn how the systems work and how to deliver the service to your clients appropriately. For example, if you do not have a university degree in law, you would have a problem interpreting the legislative systems, you may not have appropriately learned client-lawyer confidentiality, and you may not be able to know which articles are appropriate for your case. If you are a doctor without any formal medical education, someone’s life might be at risk at your hands. Therefore, for some professions, having a university education is fundamental.

On the contrary, for other professions like creative fields, sports, and entertainment, having a university education is not mandatory as these professions could have their careers by having many experiences. For example, if you are a designer, as long as you have a good sense of design and a wide range of portfolios, you could be successful in the field even without having a university education.

In conclusion, whether you need a university education to be successful will depend on the career you want to pursue. As for me, having a university education has a distinct advantage as you could learn and make all the mistakes before entering the real workforce world.