Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to get drivers tested each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An unprecedented rise in the number of cars on the road is resulting in frequent car accidents. As a result, the relevant authorities are now seeking effective measures to enhance road safety, which annual tests for drivers seen as an effective solution for this. In this essay, I will present some reasons for my agreement with this opinion.

To begin with, these kind of tests ensure that drivers regularly update their driving skills, encouraging them to follow traffic rules more responsibly. Updating drivers’ skills is particularly important today due to the sudden increase in car ownership, which demands greater awareness and powerful abilities, such as focus and immediate reaction, than in the past. Learning how to drive in different situations with several risks can improve driver’s ability to manage car driving in tough conditions. For example, courses focused on driving in tight spaces, maintaining a safe distance on congested roads, and adhering to speed limits in public areas can significantly increase drivers’ concentration and reaction on the road, ensuring the safety of people inside and outside of the car.

Moreover, apart from improving drivers’ skills, regular consciousness about new regulations inform citizens about changes in traffic laws and road systems, which are often overlooked once driver’s license is obtained. After the introduction of the electric vehicles, smart traffic signals, and updated speed regulations road infrastructure has developed in an unprecedented speed. Without proper education and constant testing, drivers may remain unaware of these changes, putting themselves and others at risk. Therefore, integrating these updates into annual tests makes drivers present and capable of complying to safety measures, which results in road order and mutual respect among drivers and passengers.

In conclusion, annual driving tests are considered the most effective way of assuring road safety. Not only does it helps drivers develop their driving abilities, but it also informs people about new regulations and infrastructure, while encouraging admiration.