Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some people that the increase in minimal legal driving age is the most effective method to decrease the number of road accidents. I disagree with this statement and knowledge of road traffic rules and careful monitoring of penalties for traffic offenses by authorities are more important.

First of all, the rules of the road are not supported by many individuals. In other words, the majority of people do not know road traffic regulations and the principles of drive control, which is often the result of increasing the number of traffic accidents. For example, drivers do not follow the traffic rules in many Asian countries like Thailand, India or Hong Kong, and according to global statistical data these parts of the world have the highest numbers of violations.

Secondly, there must be ensuring more effective enforcement of traffic offence penalties. Strick rules for speeding or driving under the influence of intoxicants have been introduced by many countries formally. Nonetheless, the percentage of road accidents is not decreasing around the world. As a result, authorities should include increased police patrols on roads, the use of surveillance cameras and automated systems to detect violations.

On the other hand, driver`s age also takes a significant place in ensuring traffic safety. This means that individuals under the age of 18 are prohibited from driving in many countries.

In conclusion, I disagree that the factor of age is one of the most important actions for reducing accidents. In my opinion, the lack of knowledge of traffic regulations and strict control of traffic violations by countries play an important role in managing safety on roads.