Some people think that the best way to reduce crimes is to apply longer prison sentences, other people think that there are better methods of doing so. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A group of individuals adhere to the view that longer prison punishments are ideal to prevent crimes.

I partially agree with this viewpoint and I will elaborate my arguments in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, I accept that long prison sentences work efficiently to reduce crime rates for some reasons. To illustrate, if people stay in prison for a long time they would have much more time to think about their actions which cause losing their freedom and it will help them to avoid dangerous things such as killing someone or kidnapping. Furthermore, the other reason why I support this rule is it assists people to behave correctly because of the fear. For example, criminals will have more than enough time to realize that they lost their independence such as going out or resting for quite a while and therefore, they will be more likely to avoid committing crimes.

On the other hand, it is also true that governments should take some straightforward measures to mitigate offences. Firstly, it is crucial to find the main reason for the crimes and solve it. For instance, it is known by everyone that poverty leads to kidnapping or pickpocketing because they do not have enough ability to earn money and there are some solutions to handle this issue. For example, governments may open new and special schools to teach robbers such as The Dost School in Azerbaijan, which assists pupils to be educated and talented.

In conclusion, I agree that a long punishment period may prevent some accidents, I also hold a view that teaching guilty citizens may make a safer and more peaceful environment.