Some people think that the educational system needs to prepare students to work, while some others claim that that line of thought restricts the place of education in society: education is needed for education's sake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been generally acknowledged that education is significant in every kind of society regarding how it influences people and the community as a whole; however, the place of education within society has often become a debated matter. On the one hand, there are those who feel that the most important function of education is to make sure that students are ready for the world of work by equipping them with marketable skills. On the other hand, others seem to resist this idea; they claim that while education does have a place in society, its purpose should be purely educational. This essay will explore both approaches and finally take the position that in modern reality both concepts are reconcilable.

Supporters of vocational education say that such an education system should work towards meeting the demands of the economy and the relevant vocations. They argue that competencies such as practical skills are imperative for students to gain; hence, an employment-focused approach in schools will increase productivity. For example, students are exposed to theoretical lessons and subsequently put them into practice through internships and apprenticeship programs. Such education is not only a combination of theory and practice but also practically reduces the rate of unemployment since students are given the skills that the employment market requires.

Those who support education for its own sake hold that the careful quest of answering all questions develops and grows a considerable understanding of the world as it is. They argue that education should not only limit itself to training people for jobs; rather, it should enhance the mind and character of the person. Philosophy, literature, and hard sciences are subjects that help in the development of critical and creative skills. In addition, this knowledge can lead to the development of new ideas because, after expanding their theories, people understand how to use this knowledge in practice to tackle tough problems and help the world develop in the future.

In summary, one can say that while workforce preparation is an integral part of education systems-which is not wrong—it is primarily the concerns of this facet of education that tend to overshadow or avoid the additional benefits of being in school. In my opinion, it is important to consider such issues as practical orientation in education; however, these issues should not be the only point of focus that neglects the development of a person’s mind. Education in this way not only takes care of the employabilty of learners but also expands and stretches their potential to be creative and think critically, which helps society become more active and progressive.