Some people think that the government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children, while others think it is the fault of the parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Few individuals think that the responsibility of the rising number of people suffering from obesity falls on the government, while those who disagree with this notion believe that the individuals themselves are responsible for this phenomenon. The former bases their opinion on the availability and easy access of the masses to unhealthy products, resulting in obesity. The latter believe that the individuals suffering from obesity do so because they have no self-control despite the availability of healthier options. In my opinion, the responsibility lies with the individuals since they are not being compelled by the government to consume unhealthy options, yet they choose to do so.

Those holding the government responsible for obesity claim that the regulatory powers of the government have weakened, owing to which substandard and unhealthy edible products are easily available in the market without any checks and balances. On the other hand, others disagree with this notion and blame the individuals for the boom in obesity. They opine that the government is not compelling individuals to consume any product. Healthy, as well as unhealthy options, are available in the market. It is up to the individual to decide which one to choose.

In my opinion, the burden of the increase in obesity lies on the individuals. Those interested in unhealthy eating would do so, even if a crackdown is undertaken on such items, since their complete eradication from the market is unrealistic. Even a country like the United States, where tens of healthy eatery options are available, is one of the leaders when it comes to obesity, indicating that the role of government in increasing obesity is minimal.

In short, the blame game regarding the increase in obesity has continued for a long time, with a segment holding the government responsible while others blame the individuals. I believe that the people are responsible for growing obesity, owing to their lack of self-control.

In short, the blame game regarding increase in obesity has continued for a long time, with a segment holding the government responsible while others blame the individuals. I believe that the people are responsible for growing obesity, owing to their lack of self-control.