Some people think that there are some drawbacks to animal testing, while some individuals think that it is too cruel. In my opinion, animal testing is one of the most essential parts of scientific development and should not be stopped if there are no alternatives.

First of all, animal testing is responsible for some of the biggest medical achievements. For example, over the past 100-150 years, many medications and treatments for diseases such as diabetes, cancer, heart disease, and epilepsy have been developed gradually thanks to testing on animals. Maybe this is why such testing is supported by many individuals even in the contemporary world. Apart from medicine, other pursuits can also be mentioned. For instance, in the mid-1950s, a dog was sent to space to explore the conditions before a human could do the same.

For many people, such testing is too cruel. Individuals believe that animals should not be tested anymore because of advances in technology. New computer imaging techniques and in vitro methods are mentioned as examples of alternatives. These are cheaper and do not require animals to be used.

Conclusion: In my opinion, animal testing should be used in favor of humans, whether it is fair or not, because it has an enormous and significant effect on human development.