Some people think that violent films and video games have negative effects on people and should be banned. Others think that they are just relaxation sources. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

The question of what are the effects of films and video games on people’s behavior is a topic of debate, with some individuals thinking that these activities have negative aspects and must be banned and others highlighting that they are relaxation resources these days. This essay intends to analyze both perspectives. I, however, side with the latter view and personally believe that these activities give enjoyable moments to us.

On the one hand, films and video games should be banned, as there are myriad negative impacts on people’s intelligence, such as loss of creativity and impairment of their decision-making. So, in some experiments, scanning of children’s brains after playing such games showed a decrease in their brain cells. Violent online games have been linked to school shootings, increases in bullying, and increased aggression in children. As a result, people are not able to take control and might act out, hurting others or themselves. What is more, children who are exposed to too much violence in movies at a young age become desensitized to violence.

On the other hand, those who view violent films and games as just relaxation sources say that video games can reduce stress by distracting adult gamers from the pressures of everyday life. College students attempting to juggle school, part-time work, finances, and household chores, for example, might find button-mashing violence to be a safe and enjoyable way to release pent-up frustrations. According to a 2010 study conducted by a Texas University professor, violent games and films can be used as therapeutic outlets to combat depression and anger.

In my opinion, I believe that violent games and movies are one of the best ways to reduce stress and anger in the modern world. These games are successful because they share an emphasis on multiplayer features and foster competitive, fun environments.

To sum up, violent films and online games might have a bad reputation, but we cannot deny the possible benefits reaped from playing them. After all, violence is everywhere these days — in the news and on television — so video games targeted at having fun and relieving stress should not be held responsible for violence and should definitely not be banned.