Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In some countries, the population of the cities is increasing significantly; therefore,it is thought by some that we should demolish old traditional buildings and replace them with new modern residential buildings. In contrast, others believe that we should ensure the safety of old buildings. In this essay,I will analyze both perspectives. However, I side with the former view.There are multiple reasons why people suggest deconstructing old buildings into modern high-rise buildings. Firstly,we are facing a serious issue of overpopulation in big cities. If we want to live peacefully in major cities with this huge crowd,we have to make our buildings bigger and better. For example,old traditional buildings are capable of holding 2 or 3 families,whereas new high-rise buildings can accommodate a plethora of families,which also take up the same space as the old buildings. Secondly,old buildings do not provide a number of facilities that have been introduced recently. To put it another way,modern buildings now come with a significant number of facilities, such as lifts, generators, and central air conditioning,which old traditional buildings were lacking in providing.

On the other hand,people who advocate that we should save the old traditional building have their own points. A few old buildings hold a great deal of value in terms of history. For instance,in Bangladesh, numerous royal palaces can be seen that are very valuable and filled with rich history; therefore,it is suggested that we should not demolish those buildings. Additionally,despite not having some historical value, some buildings hold an individual’s personal memories. To elaborate,childhood memories are deeply related to some people’s old homes; hence, they want to protect those buildings.

In my opinion,the problem of rising population can only be tackled by constructing new modern buildings that would have the capacity to hold multiple families with beneficial amenities. Nonetheless,we should ensure that the historical building stays untouched.

To sum up,modern buildings are very crucial to providing homes in this overcrowded population situation, but the government should look after historical buildings that stayed untouched.