Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

With the wake of rapid modernization, the ancient constructions made by ancestors are rapidly being replaced to build houses and other structures. Some people argue that this is a positive trend, while others contend, emphasizing the importance of preserving old buildings. I agree that, owing to urban expansion, population growth, and modernization, a certain amount of reconstruction is vital, but due to cultural and historical values and economic benefits, iconic historic creations should be protected.

On the one hand, replacing old buildings is beneficial for modern cities to facilitate the growing demands of urban life. For catering to urban expansion and population growth, more housing and commercial infrastructure are necessary. Particularly old and abandoned buildings might take up spaces in densely populated areas that could be more efficiently utilized in urban development. Furthermore, in terms of enhancing infrastructure and modernization, old buildings are no longer energy-efficient, lack novel utilities, and may be structurally unsafe. Hence, reconditioning outdated technology in ancient buildings will be expensive, and since urban residents demand certain set of modern utilities for a comfortable life, the preference of living in an old building is minimum. Additionally, some thousand-year-old constructions are treacherous for human habitation. For instance, old buildings lack emergency exits in case of a fire hazard, earthquake, or structural collapse.

In contrast, conserving ancient buildings is vital for preserving cultural and historical inheritance while strengthening economic benefits. Firstly, ancient structures provide physical links to the past, embodying the history of a place and its people. Historical architecture and amazing craftsmanship that are no longer applicable in the modern world can be observed via these heritage grounds, as they provide valuable educational opportunities. Moreover, these historic treasures are connected to the cultural identity of a certain city or a country. For example, the Taj Mahal in India and the Colosseum in Rome have very unique features that describe a certain rich culture. In addition, ancient developments by ancestors facilitate massive economic advantages in terms of tourism and job creation. Specifically, conservation of those old buildings requires continuous efforts, providing employment for numerous individuals, including stonemasonry, carpentry, and archeology. Most importantly, many historic buildings attract tourists, generating substantial revenue for local businesses. For instance, historic cities like Rome, Paris, and Kyoto rely heavily on income earned by their historical architecture and heritage sites.

In conclusion, I agree that there is an unavoidable need to eliminate historic buildings for urban expansion and modernization, but it is essential to preserve special ancient structures considering the significant cultural and historical values while embracing the economic benefits.