Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary era, people have been discussing about the ancient buildings.Some anticipate that those infrastructures are worth protecting, whilst other individuals believe that replacing them with new buildings is more appropriate in this century. It is true that preserving heritage sites is necessary these days as they can serve as the tourist attractions, however, demolishing or changing them into modern designs would be appealing in terms of city development. From my perspective, I firmly agree with the notion of protecting them as they are precious and showcasing our culture and traditions.

On the one hand, some people are in favour of protecting old buildings because they consider them as the inheritance of our ancestors, and they think those can later turn into the places where people can visit. For instance, Bagan- an ancient city in Myanmar had undergone a maintaining process for 2 years, before opening the place for the visitors. Consequently, when they re-opened the site, not only the amount of tourists rocketed, but UNESCO also recognised it as the heritage site of Myanmar, making the country well-known across the globe. Hence, some individuals prefer protecting those in order to enhance the country’s tourism. I also agree with this idea of doing the aforementioned maintenance which encourages us to show-off our cultural values at the international stage.

On the other hand, the opponents of the statement want to replace the old buildings with new ones. As the majority of countries are putting efforts into the standard of buildings, having those old residential areas might harm the image of the urban area. As an illustration, a city in India called Kota is famous among foreigners due to the modern architecture of the universities and public buildings, after removing ancient buildings in the city.. Therefore, some people are of the opinion of replacing the ancient buildings with newly constructed ones.

In conclusion, people have been debating whether they should alter the old buildings or protect them. The proponents of this insight believe that preserving them will bring positive consequences for the public, especially in the tourism sector. In contrast, others disagree because those buildings are distracting the look of the city. In my opinion, I totally agree with protecting them as those are considered to be the heritage sites of the nation.