Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Architecture plays an important role in a city.It defines the nature, culture, anthropological features, and traditions of a society or nation. There are many debates about replacing the old buildings with the modern ones and about preserving the old ones. In this essay, I will discuss about the both sides of the points and export my views.

Old buildings and houses sometimes contain distinctive architectural features, which represents the ancient culture, lifestyles and traditions. Although, these structures are often unsuitable for living because of their poor infrastructures, such as, broken and damp walls, poor sanitation systems etc. However, some people are like to protect and live in their forefather’s house by renovating them with modern facilities. Also, some socioeconomic factors affect the decisions of where people live. some people who can’t afford modern houses, live in old houses forcefully. Furthermore, some buildings have historical importance. this type of building should be preserved, as these structures attract the tourists from different nations. These historical buildings create opportunities for different economic activities.

On the other hand modern buildings come with modern facilities. these types of buildings are multifunctional. As population is increasing day by day, these buildings can accommodate many people in one place and will solve the problem of space. Besides that, modern infrastructures of a city represents the development of the city over time. This feature also can attract tourists.

To sum up, I prefer to preserve the old buildings and houses, as this will pass the tradition to the next generations. However, modern buildings should exist simultaneously.