Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others consider they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People often have divisive views with regard to hiring the most suitable candidate for a job. Some prefer to recruit individuals who are team-oriented and can adhere to instructions easily, while others prefer ingenious candidates who are more individualistic in nature. In my opinion, employing inventive people who can autonomously deal with tasks is a pragmatic hiring decision.

Firstly, originality and flair for innovation are prerequisites for many job positions. Self-reliant and innovative individuals thrive in providing unconventional solutions and products using their resourcefulness which allows them to devise novel solutions. Creativity does not only express itself in the nature of one’s work, it also finds expression in managerial styles, allowing individual employees to contribute their ideas and vision. Such ingenious workers will also require minimum supervision, saving a lot of time and money for the organisation. Lastly, innovation in the workplace also allows organisations to focus on their long-term goals, making such employees an invaluable asset to any organisation.

However, those who prefer hiring team-oriented people opine that concerted effort and work are essential to any organisation. The smooth functioning of any organisation hinges on internal harmony among its employees and thus, team players can be extremely crucial to maintaining this accord. Also, being able to follow instructions and conform to company policies is also pivotal for any organisation to succeed, which is another reason why people might prefer hiring team players.

Thus, in conclusion, it can be said that there are manifold benefits to hiring individuals who can think unconventionally and make prolific contributions to any organisations over individuals whose strengths lie in simply being cooperative.