Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others consider they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued whether it is more lucrative for organizations to offer spots to inventive but solitary individuals or to dutiful but cooperative workers. Personally, I think that while a big project might need many people to apply themselves collaboratively on it, the growth of the enterprise is the result of revolutionary thoughts of lone workers.

Corporate development is achieved through successfully handling business problems and finding best solutions. In most of the cases, such problems are highly non-trivial, thus they cannot be tackled through mere compliance to rules, but chiefly require ingenious creativity. Activity of Elon Musk is a prime example, who while preferring solitude at work, managed to surpass NASA in rocket production by using non-traditional approaches to problems.

Some might disagree and feel that collaboration is vital at a larger scale. It is, in fact, correct, as a single person can’t comprehend the whole of the company’s matter. Nevertheless, a single brain can come up with effective decisions that are main contributor to the success, unattainable through casual work, even if the latter has team spirit. This is why most higher institutions’ missions are centered around giving ability to think rather than teaching literal and trivial skill.

In conclusion, while it is necessary to engage a lot of employees in team work in order to fulfill the needs of large projects, the real benefit for the corporation comes from original but lone minds, who resolve its hardest challenges and direct it towards bright future. Thus, it is of paramount importance to recruit innovative people who can work independently.