Some people think zoos are good. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Zoos are thought to be beneficial for animals. I fully agree with this view because of two main reasons: it provides the preservation of wild animals and helps scientists to do some research.

One idea in favor of zoos is that they help animal conservation. That is to say, animals which are on the verge of extinction thanks to lack of habitat or food might have opportunity to survive in zoos. For example, some species, including but not limited to pandas and tigers have been saved and reintroduced to wild life due to the proper conditions in zoos. As a result, these zoos-based conservation projects could contribute to biodiversity to thrive. If it weren’t for zoos, many animals would have already been devastated. Therefore, zoos are believed to facilitate the survival of wild life.

One idea in favor of tourism is that it benefits the society financially. That is to say, tourism creates many job opportunities for local people. For example, the flow of visitors to a country could create demand for accommodation such as hotels and motels, along with increasing the need for services such as bars and clubs, all of which provided public with jobs and salaries. As a result, people can be hired in these industries to cater travelers, who are pouring money into touristic destinations. If it were not for these sightseeing lovers, many countries would have been struggling financially. Therefore, tourism can be attributed to a positive development of the society.