Some say that when young people commit serious crimes, they should be punished like adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that juvenile delinquents should be imposed the same punishment as adults if they committed serious crimes. I firmly agree with this opinion as a number of extremely negative effects society might face if they were not treated rationally, albeit being supposed unnecessary.

It is necessary to impose the same punishment as mature individuals on young criminals. This is believed to help with preventing young people from having illegal behaviors , and keeping those who have been recorded having committed a sin from recommitting. It is because the punishment contributes to the youngs’ self-awareness of controlling their urge to sin. As a result, the rate of juvenile criminals would noticeably lower in general.

If the youngs were culpable for sinning , no matter whether the consequences are serious or not, they should be treated as mature criminals. Punishment is supposed to be a warning to the public, especially the society’s youngs not to commit illegal activities. It could raise the awareness of being judged and punished equally as adults, even if what they have done was just a misdemeanor. Therefore, the youngs would never have a disposition to commit crimes.

However, some people still hold the belief that it is needless to punish young sins so strictly as adults. They claim that young people after being imposed the punishment could have mental problems such as depression or they could be the target of malicious comments. Having said that, this point of view would probably make the youngs have the feeling of fearlessness to society’s laws. Leading to the miscarriage of justice and increasing the potential of recommitting serious crimes.

In conclusion, I personally agree with the given statement that young people committing serious sins need to be punished strictly, albeit some conflicting opinions..