Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Recently, more and more animal species have become endangered. Some are on the verge of extinction, others are more at risk by every passing day. In this essay, I would like to take a look on possible causes of this problems and make some suggetions how we could put a stop to this.

Arguably, many animals are in danger mostly due to human activities. Firstly, the size of animals’ natural habitat has been steadly decreasing over the last decades. As the Earth’s population grows constanly, people need more urbanized space to live. In order to create appropriate living environment for themselves, forests are cut down and cities are built all over the World, resulting in the loss of natural space. Furthermore, illegal hunting is quite popular nowadays. The rarer a species is, the higher its worth is. As a consequence, they are seen as the perfect profit-making opportunity for illegal hunters, who, after killing them, sell them on the black market for enourmous sums of money.

However, there are measures which could be taken in order to save these endangered, rare animal species. First of all, people could be more respectful of animals’ habitat as animals also have the right to live here. The destruction of natural places and construction of man-made infrasructures should be highly regulated by the respective institutions. Instead of green-field constructions, areas alredy used by humans could be redeveloped. Additionally, governments should have a tighter grasp on the illegal trades of rare species on the black market, Strichter regulations, including larger fines and longer prison sentences, could be introduced to demotivate people from illegal hunting.

In conclusion, we can see that humans are the main reason why so many species are at risk. It only makes sence that we are also the ones to search for solutions and actively implement them. I hope we can save as many animals as possible from extinction since they make the Earth a better place to live on.